Follow Us On:

2023-24 Teachers of the Year

Posted on Wednesday, May 15, 2024 at 8:00 am


The 2023-2024 Teacher of the Year Banquet was held in Bell Buckle last Tuesday evening.

The teachers honored were:

  • Kristi Terceira from Cascade Elementary.
  • Sheila Phillips from Cascade Middle.
  • Wendy Williams from Cascade High.
  • Meghan Brown from Community Elementary.
  • Kristy Tocchio from Community Middle.
  • Brad Brown from Community High.
  • Nikki Jones from Eakin Elementary.
  • Katie Cobb from East Side Elementary.
  • Paul Alumbaugh from Harris Middle.
  • Kristyn Gutierrez from Learning Way Elementary.
  • Tonya Donegan from Liberty Elementary School.
  • Matthew ogles from Liberty Middle School.
  • Sonya Dyer from Shelbyville Central.
  • Kaitlyn Short from Southside Elementary.
  • Haylie Dial from Thomas Magnet Elementary.
  • Lisa Crunk from Thomas Magnet Middle.
  • Howard Collins from Bedford County Learning Academy Middle.
  • Cindy Pope from Bedford County Learning Academy High.
  • Xavier Hamler, Supervisor of the Year.
  • Sandy Sorrells, Principal of the Year from Cascade High.

The 2023-24 Teachers of the Year

Community Middle Principal Tony Garrette, right, introduced Teacher of the Year Kristy Tocchio, who was absent from the event. Instead, Community Elementary Principal Colt Boyce held up a photo cut-out of Tocchio, which brought several laughs from the audience.

District-wide teachers, from left, Sandy Sorrells; Xavier Hamler, Supervisor of the Year and Tennessee Region-Level Semi-Finalist; Wendy Williams; Katie Cobb; and Sheila Phillips.